The 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now open for entry. The prize brings stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience.

The Prize is open to all citizens of Commonwealth countries. The prize is open to published and unpublished writers, but the story submitted must be previously unpublished. Stories must be submitted in English but short stories translated into English from other languages are eligible. Stories must be between 2,000 and 5,000 words.

Each year, we select five winning writers from five different Commonwealth regions, one of whom is chosen as the overall winner. Regional winners receive £2,500 (US$3,835) and the overall winner receives £5,000 (US$7,670). If the winning short story is a translation into English, the translator receives equal prize money.

The deadline is 1 November 2015.

Click here for entry and eligibility guidelines.

Click here for the online entry form.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s