BOOK REVIEW | Holy Crimes by Elove Poetry & Vincent de Paul

poemReviewer: Tabitha Makumi
Book: Holy Crimes – A Collection of Love Poetry
Author: Elove Poetry & Vincent de Paul
Genre: Poetry
ISBN 10: 1500583456
ISBN 13: 978-1500583453
PUBLISHER: Mystery Publishers (K) LTD
LANGUAGE: English

Vincent de Paul is a Kenyan poet with a whole load of poems under his belt (people still say that, right?) The book comes with a catchy title of “Holy Crimes”. My first reaction when he told me to look at this collection was… “Dude, what are you trying to do to me!” “Not again… dad, is that you trying to convince me to read anything I can get my hands on?”

I know! I am getting to the point in a jiffy. If I have to choose a favourite among the 66 collection of poems, it will have to be“Self Employed”. In today’s society, we embrace the entrepreneurs. They are on your daily newspaper; they are on the cover of that glossy magazine in a supermarket rack. You know you want to buy it but the price makes you pull your hand back as though you’ve touched a hot pan. Chasing paper, building your own empire…what’s not to like about such stories?Then there are the untold stories. Tales that give a dark meaning to the word “self – employed”

“Everyone calls me the black sheep of the society
I never stand un-accused in the court of piety
My name is Mira, they just call me Lulu
Say I am Physically repulsive, morally reprehensible
I’d just turned thirteen when I moved to sin city
Childhood was over, adulthood just began.”

See that, so much happening in those few words. No fooling around with 667 words (which I am currently on) and no pussyfooting with meaningless adjectives.

Read full review at Tabitha Makumi blog. 

Leave a Reply

